St. Kitts – Nevis Delegation To Attend CARICOM Meeting

Basseterre, St. Kitts – Nevis
March 05, 2008 (CUOPM)
St. Kitts and Nevis Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas is leading a seven-member delegation to the 19th Inter-Sessional Meeting of CARICOM Heads of Government in The Bahamas.

The other members of the delegation are Premier of Nevis, Hon. Joseph Parry; St. Kitts and Nevis Minister of Foreign Affairs, International Trade, Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Dr. the Hon. Timothy Harris; Chief Secretary, Mr. Joseph Edmeade; Financial Secretary, Mrs. Janet Harris; St. Kits and Nevis Ambassador to CARICOM, the OECS and the ACS, His Excellency Mr. Wendell Lawrence and Cabinet Secretary in Nevis, Mr. Ashley Farrerll.

According to top regional journalist, Ricky Singh, three major issues of current concerns to the people of the 15-member Caribbean Community (CARICOM) will dominate the CARICOM Heads of Government scheduled from Friday to Sunday.

They are the rising cost-of-living; serious crime and violence; and the new Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) initialed last December 16 between negotiators of the European Commission (EC) and the Cariforum group of countries (Caricom plus the Dominican Republic).

Leave a Comment