Premier Asks Police Force to “Reach Out to the Young.”

Nevis, West Indies Premier - Joseph Parry

Nevis, West Indies Premier – Joseph Parry

Charlestown, Nevis
March 10, 2009

The Premier of Nevis, Hon. Joseph Parry, called on Nevisians and the Police Force to reach out to the young people. He made the statement in an address to the awardees of the Nevis Division of the Royal St. Christopher”“Nevis Police Force at the Old Manor Hotel on Saturday, March 7th, 2009.

“We have been producing a number of young men who have an attitude that serves them badly.  There is something that is going on that is beyond understanding. I feel that the Police and Parents must try to reach out and help these young people,” said Premier Parry.

The Hon. Joseph Parry said the establishment of Law and Order in the country goes beyond locking up someone; beyond taking people to court. “It has to do with respect, Law and Order, reaching out to help one another and the safety of our children among our community.”

With respect to the duties of the government in trying to banish bad attitude, the Premier has made it a point to visit all the public schools on the island where he has talked to the young people and tried to sensitize their teachers to some of these children’s needs.

The Premier said many parents are so busy making money, educating themselves and trying to get material items that they forget about what is happening around them.  As a result of this, he said, those children who are left behind are becoming angrier and angrier everyday.

According to Premier Parry, “If we want to have safety and law and order, we really must reach back and pull those behind along with us!” He went on to say that those who commit crimes must realize that Nevis must become crime free for the sake of the island’s Tourism and Financial Services sector.

Meantime, Premier Parry congratulated all the awardees and commended them on the excellent work they have been doing to help stem negative behavior on the island.  The esteemed awardees were: #199, WPC Ornette Hendrickson; #292, PC Mitchell Hobson; #321, PC Sean John; #577, PC Leon Lake; #592, WPC Coretta Harris; #595, PC Delroy Harris; #621, PC Keith Pemberton; #626, PC Leon Michael; #690, PC Dwight St. Ville.   Police Officer of the Year went to Police Constable Delroy Harris.

The event was chaired by Mr. Walter Morton, while the Feature Address was given by Mr. Oral Martin. Among those present at the ceremony were Governor General, His Excellency Sir Cuthbert Sebastian, Deputy Governor, His Honour Mr. Eustace John, Superintendent Samuel Seabrookes, Deputy Commissioner of Police, Mr. Stafford Liburd, President of the National Assembly, Mrs. Marjorie Morton and Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of National Security, Mrs. Astona Browne.

Leave a Comment