Notice of Nominations In Place For January 15, 2010

St. Kitts - Nevis Nominations

Nomination Notices for St. Kitts – Nevis Elections

Basseterre, St. Kitts – Nevis
January 08, 2010 (SKNIS)

With Nomination Day set for January 15, 2010, ten days before Elections, the St. Kitts and Nevis Electoral Office has endorsed the release of the Notices concerning the Nomination of Candidates.

In accordance with the provisions of Section 51(1) of the National Assembly Elections Act, Chapter 162, the Notices concerning the Nomination of Candidates have been published by the Returning Officers for the eleven (11) Electoral Districts.  Nominations will be received by Returning Officers on January 15 between 10:00 am and 1:00 pm. at specific locations.

Returning Officer Mr. George Arthurlyn Belle will receive nominations for St. Christopher 1 at the Basseterre, Police Station, Lozack Road (former Magistrate Court).  Mr. Donald Cable will receive nominations for St. Christopher 2 at the Anglican Church Hall (Old Girl’s School), Victoria Road, Basseterre.  Mr. Raphael Archibald will receive St. Christopher 3s nominations at St. Johnston Police Station, Basseterre.  St. Christopher 4s nominations will be received by Mr. Steve Wrensford at the Old Road Police Station.  Dr. Hermia Morton-Anthony will receive nominations for St. Christopher 5 at the Sandy Point Police Station.   Miss Ruby Taylor will receive St. Christopher 6s nominations at the St. Paul’s Police Station. St. Christopher 7s nominations will be received by Mr. Thomas Williams at the Tabernacle Police Station.

Mr. Alsted Pemberton will receive nominations for Nevis 9 at the Charlestown Police Station.  Mr. Kelvin Daley will receive Nevis 10s nominations at the Gingerland Police Station.  Nevis 11s nominations will be received by Miss Eileen Walwyn at the New Castle Police Station.

The release from the Electoral Office also stated that each candidate must be nominated by two registered voters from the Electoral District in which the candidate is seeking election.  Each nominated candidate also had to give the Returning Officer a deposit of $150.  This amount will be refunded provided the candidate receives over one-eighth of the votes in that Electoral District.

Leave a Comment