St. Kitts – Nevis To Host 22nd OECS Ministers of Education Meeting


Organisation of the Eastern Caribbean States Flag

Basseterre, St. Kitts
May 16, 2012 (SKNIS)

Final preparations are underway for the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis to host the 22nd Organisation of the Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) Ministers of Education Meeting under the theme “Contributing to a Deeper, Stronger, Economic Union”.

The meeting will be held from May 22 to 24 at the St. Kitts Marriott Resort. The opening ceremony, which is opened to the public, will be held on Tuesday at 7:00 p.m.

The occasion will provide the opportunity for policy makers to engage in constructive dialogue on substantive policy issues regarding education development in the OECS; agree on policies and strategies to advance OECS education; secure the support and collaboration of regional agencies and development partners in advancing the education development agenda; as well as share innovative ideas and experiences that have contributed to educational development at the national level.

The OECS was established on June 18, 1981 on the signing of the Treaty of Basseterre, in St. Kitts. Seven countries signed the treaty in 1981. They are Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines. The Virgin Islands joined the OECS as an associate member on November 22, 1984. Anguilla joined in 1995 increasing the membership to nine countries.

The OECS Ministers of Education meeting is held annually and is rotated amongst the OECS member countries.

Leave a Comment