St. Kitts – Nevis Labour Party Re-elects Douglas As Candidate

Labour Party Candidate - Denzil Douglas

Labour Party Candidate – Denzil Douglas

Basseterre, St. Kitts – Nevis
May 21, 2012 (CUOPM)

St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister the Right Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas was Sunday re-elected unopposed for the 24th consecutive year as National Political Leader of the ruling St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party.

Dr. Douglas was first elected Party Leader in 1989 and was unopposed on Sunday as all 8 constituencies on St. Kitts submitted his name.

Delegates to the Labour Party’s 80th Annual Conference at the St. Kitts Marriott on Sunday night also  re-elected unopposed Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs,  Labour and Social Security, Hon. Sam Condor as Deputy National Leader; Senior Minister and Minister of Agriculture, International Trade, Industry, Consumer Affairs, Fisheries and Constituency Empowerment, Dr. the Hon. Timothy Harris as National Chairman; Minister of Education and Information; Sen. the Hon. Nigel Carty as National Vice Chairman; Mrs. Diana Williams-Humphries as National Secretary and National Treasurer is Dr. Norgen Wilson.

The new National Assistant Secretary is Karen Crossman. She replaces, Ms. Ghislyn Williams who did not seek re-election.

The three elected members to serve on the Executive are Dr. Vance Gilbert who received 201 votes; Thamesha Fyfield, 163 votes and Meshack Alford, 129 votes.

Other members of the National Executive representing the constituencies in St. Kitts are Sharylle Richardson (Constituency #1); Mr. Rudolph Morton (Constituency #2); Mr. George Dixon (Constituency #5) and Miss Ruby Taylor (Constituency # 6).  Constituencies 3, 4, 7 and 8 and Labour Women are to name their representatives shortly.

Miss Vincia Herbert is the representative for Young Labour

Leave a Comment