Pond Hill Man Named Nevis’ Farmer Of The Year

Marcel Hanley Receives Award From Kelvin Daly

Marcel Hanley (r) Receives Award From Kelvin Daly

Charlestown, Nevis
March 26, 2010

Mr. Marcel Hanley of Pond Hill was named the Top Farmer for 2009 on Thursday, at an opening ceremony to mark the start of the two-day 16th Annual Agriculture Open Day. The event was held at the Villa Grounds in Charlestown.

Mr. Hanley was one of several farmers who were awarded for their contribution to the Agriculture on Nevis.

Mr. Donald Daniel was awarded for having the most thoroughputs at the Marketing Division. Livestock Farmer for 2009 was named as Mr. Danford Martin while Mr. Oretuis Jones was awarded for the most thoroughputs at the Abattoir for 2009.

Top Fisher for that year was Mr. Andrew Claxton while the most fish through the Fisheries Complex went to Mr. Collin Huggins.

A number of staff members were honoured. Ms. Sharon Alfred was awarded for service in Animal Health; Ravendra Hoosain in the Abattoir Division; Donald Morgan and Hemchand Moolprasad for service in the Livestock Division.

Mr. Victor Joseph was awarded for service to the S.F.E.P and Ms. Grace-ann Williams Leitch was awarded for services to the Marketing Division.

Mr. Floyd Liburd, Shermel England, Ghansham Ghandeo, Haymanchalie Ugrah, Eusi Lluke and Andrew Leitch were awarded for their service to the Extension Division. A special award was given to Mr. John Parris.

In the Department of Agriculture, Ms. Lasherna Kelly was awarded for her services in the Clarical Division; Inaga Lawrence was awarded for services to the Department of Fisheries and in the Department of Cooperatives Mr. Edred Ward received a special award while Mr. Wilroy Gerald was awarded for service to the Department.

A special award of participation was given to Elmena Webbe.

Leave a Comment