PM Douglas Assumes Chairmanship of OECS Authority

Premier Douglas With OECS Director General Len Ishmael

Premier Douglas With OECS Director General Len Ishmael
Photo By Erasmus Williams

Basseterre, St. Kitts – Nevis
September 15, 2009 (CUOPM)

St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas has assumed the chairmanship of Authority of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS).

Director General of the OECS, Her Excellency Dr. Len Ishmael said the newly-elected Chief Minister of Montserrat, the Hon. Rueben Meade has indicated a preference not to assume the Chairmanship of the OECS Authority currently held by Montserrat at this time given the rigors associated with establishing the work of his new administration.

As a result Prime Minister Douglas will serve the region as Chairman of the OECS Authority which holds its 50th Meeting on November 19th and 20th in Anguilla.

OECS Members are Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, British Virgin Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Leave a Comment