Nevis Premier Congratulates Tourism Award Recipients

Nevis Island's Premier - Joseph Parry

Nevis Island’s Premier – Joseph Parry

December 2nd, 2008

“People always make the community, the country or any place in the world; therefore, it must be recognized that it is the people that have made Nevis Tourism the positive industry that it is today,” articulated Premier of Nevis and Minister of Tourism, the Hon. Joseph Parry.

The Premier made the remarks in recognition of the individuals honored at the Nevis Tourism Awards Cocktail on Saturday, November 29th at the Old Manor Hotel.

The theme for this year was, Recognizing Quality Service in Tourism.

During Premier Parry’s remarks, he told the invited guests about his recent trip to Montserrat and Cuba where he observed and admired the tourism industries on both islands.

“The Tourism industry is about hard work and hard work will be rewarded, especially by my government,” said Premier Parry.

The Premier discussed the temporary closure of the Four Seasons Resort on Nevis, which was due to damages caused by Hurricane Omar on October 16th.  He said that the island of Nevis did not anticipate the closure but he knows that the Four Seasons Resort will reopen with even more splendor.

Presently 60 percent of the Four Seasons employees continue to work at the resort. The expected opening date of the Four Seasons is said to be April 30th, 2009.

Meanwhile, twelve recipients received awards for their service in the Tourism Industry. Taxi Operator of the year went to Bernard Weekes, Allied Service/Establishment-Top to Bottom, Other Allied Services Worker- Jevan Bissette, Hotel /Manager of the year- Mac Kee France of the Four Seasons Resort. In addition, Nathaniel Terry Liburd of the Botanical Gardens, Dorette Parris of Nisbett Plantation Beach Club, Sylvia Nisbett of Mount Nevis Hotel, Bertil Mintos and Juliette Daniel of Hurricane Cove, Vera Jean Browne of Golden Rock and Sandrene Nolan of Oualie Beach Hotel all received awards for Long Service.

The event was a most pleasing and rather successful one, with Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism, Mr. Tyrone O’Flaherty acting as Master of Ceremonies.  The Feature Address was given by CEO of the Nevis Tourism Authority, Mrs. Garcia Thompson-Hendrickson and the vote of thanks was presented by Ms. Nicole Liburd, Tourism Development Officer.

Leave a Comment