Labour Wins Historic Fourth Term In Federal Elections

PM Denzil Douglas Retains Power

PM Denzil Douglas Retains Power
Photo By Erasmus Williams

Basseterre, St. Kitts – Nevis
January 26, 2010 (CUOPM)

The political will of the people of the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis was boldly manifested when the electorate voted the St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party into power for a fourth historic consecutive term on Monday, January 25.

Jubilation followed in every constituency where Labour had won and a massive Labour crowd descended on Central Basseterre to celebrate the victory on Tuesday morning after all the results were in.

Prime Minister, Hon. Dr. Denzil Douglas, thanked the electorate for their tremendous support, especially the young Labour Movement, and his ministerial colleagues. He urged everyone in the country from all political persuasions to work together for the good of the country.

The elections, which had long been anticipated, were delayed by a series of court injunctions brought by the People’s Action Movement against the Government to stop the re-alignment of the constituency boundaries, which was recommended by election observers after the 2004 elections. The matter is still before the court and the elections were fought on the existing boundaries.

The electorate had become frustrated with the injunctions and finally breathed a sigh of relief when 150 young bell-ringing persons, joined Prime Minister Douglas and his ministerial colleagues, in announcing the date of the elections on January 7 at Baker’s Corner before a 5000 plus crowd. It was jubilation then, as it is jubilation now.

Observer teams from the Organization of American States, the Commonwealth, CARICOM and the St. Kitts Evangelical Association and Christian Council have all given positive reports from the grounds about the conduct of the elections.

The St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party won 6 of the 8 seats in St. Kitts, while the Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM) won 2 of the three seats in Nevis.

In St. Kitts, in Constituency # 1, Dr. the Hon. Earl Assim Martin retained his seat with 1777 votes to the People’s Action Movement (PAM) candidate, Glenroy Blanchette, with 1536 votes; in Constituency #2, Labour candidate and the only female in the race, Marcella Liburd received a total of 1907 votes to PAM’s candidate, Roy Flemming, with 1476 votes, and independent candidate, Esroy Dorset got 6 votes; in Constituency #3, the Hon. Sam Condor was re-elected with 1306 votes, while Bernard Welsh of the PAM received 545 votes; in Constituency #4, Labour’s candidate Glen Phillip won with 1185 votes and PAM’s leader, Lindsay Grant received 1156 votes; in Constituency #5, PAM’s candidate, Hon. Shawn Richards retained his seat with 1128 votes to Labour’s candidate, Dr. Norgen Wilson, with 985 votes; in Constituency #6, Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Denzil Douglas won with 1905 votes while Pam’s candidate, Junie Hodge, received 179 votes; in Constituency #7, Dr. the Hon. Timothy Harris won with 1635 votes, PAM’s candidate, Ronald Williams received 570 votes and independent candidate, Reginald C. Thomas got 10 votes; in Constituency #8, PAM’s candidate, Eugene Hamilton won with 1803 votes while the Hon. Cedric Liburd lost his seat with 1527 votes.

In total, the Labour Party received 12, 227 votes while the PAM Party received 8, 393 votes. The independent candidates received 16 votes.

In Nevis, in Constituency # 9, the Concerned Citizen’s Movement’s (CCM), Mark A.G. Brantley won with 1481 votes to the Nevis Reformation Party Hensley E. Daniel, who received 1335 votes; in Constituency #10, CCM’s, Mark Brantley, won with 665 votes, while NRP, Hensley Daniel lost with 225 votes; in Constituency #11, CCM’s Mark Brantley lost with 714 votes and NRP, Hensley Daniel won with 979 votes.

CCM totaled 2860 votes, while NRP totaled 2539 votes.

Prime Minister Dr. Denzil Douglas still has to put together his Cabinet portfolios and the Cabinet will be sworn in shortly.

Leave a Comment