Government Committed To Citizens Living Abroad

St. Kitts - Nevis Flag

Citizens Living Overseas Have Rights Too

Basseterre, St. Kitts – Nevis
February 11, 2009 (CUOPM)

St. Kitts and Nevis Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas has re-affirmed the commitment of the St. Kitts – Nevis Government to promote and protect the interests of the twin-island Federation and safeguard the welfare of its citizens living overseas.

Prime Minister Douglas, in his third message to Kittitians and Nevisians living in countries around the world urged nationals to use the embassies, consulates and tourism offices “as your physical link to the federation.”

“That you understand the many services that they can provide to you – from something as routine as applying for a passport, to providing assistance in times of more major crises,” said Dr. Douglas in the message available on YouTube and the government website.

“In addition, many of you have ideas that could strengthen the cultural, economic or other linkages between the city or country in which you live, and the federation. Our embassies, consulates and tourism offices are your links to home,” reiterated Prime Minister Douglas, who also stressed that the offices overseas are “conduits to your government.”

“Take the time to visit these offices. Be sure to establish a relationship. This is one of the best ways for you to remain involved,” said Dr. Douglas, who is also the Minister of Foreign Affairs.

St. Kitts and Nevis maintains Embassies and Missions in Washington, DC; New York; Brussels, Belgium and Taipei, Republic of China on Taiwan.

High Commissions in London, England; Kingston, Jamaica and Ottawa, Canada.

And Consulates are in New York and Coral Gables, Florida in the United States; Halifax, Nova, Scotia, Canada; Toronto/Ontario, Canada; Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada;  Toronto, Canada; Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada; Montreal, Quebec, Canada; Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada; Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic; St. Thomas, United States Virgin Islands; Vesenaz, Switzerland; Istanbul, Turkey; Brussels, Belgium; St. John’s, Antigua; Bridgetown, Barbados; Belize City, Belize; St. Cloud, France; Hamburg, Germany and Johannesburg, South Africa.

Tourism Offices are located in New York and Washington, D.C. in the United States; Toronto, Canada and London, England.

Leave a Comment