St. Kitts – Nevis PM Re-Elected As National Political Leader

Prime Minister Dr. Denzil Douglas

Prime Minister Dr. Denzil Douglas
Photo By Erasmus Williams

Basseterre, St. Kitts – Nevis
May 15, 2011 (CUOPM)

St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas was Sunday re-elected unopposed for the 23rd consecutive year as National Political Leader of the ruling St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party. Dr. Douglas was first elected Party Leader in 1989.

Delegates to the Labour Party’s 79th Annual Conference at the St. Kitts Marriott on Sunday night also  re-elected unopposed Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and National Security, Labour and Social Security, Hon. Sam Condor as Deputy National Leader; Senior Minister and Minister of Agriculture, International Trade, Industry, Consumer Affairs, Fisheries and Constituency Empowerment, Dr. the Hon. Timothy Harris as National Chairman and Minister of Education and Information, Sen. the Hon. Nigel Carty as National Vice Chairman to the Executive Committee.

Elected as the new National Secretary is Mrs. Diana Williams-Humphries who defeated the former Assistant Secretary, Mr. Joseph O’Flaherty 143 votes to 135.

The new National Assistant Secretary, Ms. Ghislyn Williams, who defeated the incumbent Joseph O’Flaherty, 156 votes to 108.

The new National Treasurer is Dr. Norgen Wilson, who defeated Alexis Nisbett, 215 votes to 72 votes.

The three elected members to serve on the Executive are Thamesha Fyfield (221 votes); Joan Phillip (198 votes) and Hazel Ross-Robinson (186 votes). Other contenders were Eugenie Condor (120 votes) and Sonia Henry (120 votes).

Other members of the National Executive representing the constituencies in St. Kitts are Sharylle Richardson (Constituency #1); Mr. Rudolph Morton (Constituency #2);  Mr. Cuthbert Caines (Constituency # 4); Mr. George Dixon (Constituency #5) and Miss Ruby Taylor (Constituency # 6). Constituencies #3, 7 and 8, Labour Women and Young Labour are to name their representatives shortly.

Leave a Comment