Social Security Appeals Tribunal Constituted

Mr. Jason Hamilton - Chairman

Mr. Jason Hamilton – Chairman

Basseterre, St. Kitts – Nevis
October 20, 2010 (CUOPM)

An 8-member Appeals Tribunal of The St Christopher & Nevis Social Security Board has been constituted.

According to a statement from the Board, the makeup of the Tribunal is provided for under the Social Security Act No13 of 1977 and SR&O No 22 of 1978, The Social Security (Determination of Questions) Regulations.

It follows the make-up along the same tripartite formation as is applicable to the Social Security Board with members drawn from employers’ representatives; that is, the St. Kitts-Nevis Chamber of Industry & Commerce (CIC), employees’ representatives ““ the St. Kitts & Nevis Trades and Labour Union (SKNTLU); and the Government.

Chairman is Mr. Jason Hamilton and Deputy Chairman is Mr. Sylvester Anthony. Other members are Ms. Skeeter Mills, Messrs. Batumba Tak, Leon Cuffy, and Sidney Bridgewater of the SKNTLU and CIC representatives, Mr. Tapley Seaton, QC and Ms. Wendy Phipps.

Social Security advised that when the Tribunal sits, it will comprise the Chairman (or his Deputy), an employers’ representative and an employees’ representative.

During such a session, any applicant seeking a ruling of the tribunal may be represented by Counsel.

Forms for applications for the review of matters are available from the Social Security offices at the Bay Road, Basseterre on St. Kitts and Chapel Street, Charlestown on Nevis.

In due course, further information about the Appeals Tribunal, including brief profiles on each member, will be made available on the website, and the facebook account Social/Security St. Kitts and Nevis.

Leave a Comment