SKABA League Tips-Off This Sunday


Don’t Miss The Opening Ceremony!

Basseterre, St. Kitts – Nevis
St. Kitts Amateur Basketball Association
April 12, 2011

The long-awaited and exciting St. Kitts Amateur Basketball Association (SKABA) League is scheduled to begin this Sunday, April 17, at Basketball City at 4:00 p.m with an official ceremony.

Following the traditional opening ceremony which is expected to feature an impressive march past of 34 teams from the Premiere, A, Female and Junior Divisions, .

According to the newly elected SKABA president, Kenroy “Romel”  Tobias, following the march past, there will be an exciting “Knock Out” tournament.

The knock-out tourney will feature the first eight Premier or A Division teams who are present at the march past with 10 or more members.

The teams will play each other in 10 minutes knock-out games until all but 2 teams are eventually eliminated. These final 2 team will play in the championship game where the champion team will receive the “Knock Out” prize of EC$1500.00.

There will also be an All-Star Game with St. Kitts versus Nevis that is expected to showcase the Federation”s top players following a fashion show featuring the models of S Model Management.

This league has seen an increased number in registration of teams for the 2011 season compared to the past few years according to SKABA”s President.

Over 30 teams were said to have registered for the new league with an increase in the “A” division with 15 compared to last season”s 11, the Female Division had four registered teams, the juniors saw an increase with seven while eight Premier Division teams will participate this year.

This season will also see two teams from Nevis, newcomers PJ”s of Gingerland and last year”s finalists Cotton Ground Rebels.

The teams registered for the 2011 season are:

Premier Division Teams

1. S.L.Horsfords Ghetto Roots
2. S.L Horsfords Rootsie
3. Rams Energizer Hitters
4. St.Pauls Tuff Knots
5. Fig Tree Dirt Revellers
6. Joseph Parry Cotton Ground Rebels
7. Village Tickers
8. Ghaut Bucks

“A” Division Teams

1. Dieppe Bay Lions
2. Rockers X1
3. Polstars
4. Firestorm
5. Old Road
6. Pj’s
7. Exodus
8. Wolfpack
9. Blue Devils
10. Cayon Lions
11. Chappertin Ballers
12. Birdrock Uprisers
13. Conaree Fireballs
14. McKnight Trotters
15. Quakers

Junior Division Teams

1. S. L.Horsfords Ghetto Roots
2. Rams Energizer Hitters
3. Fruta Falcons 1
4. Fruta alcons 2
5. Blue Devils
6. Birdrock Uprisers
7. Mc Knight Trotters

Female Division

1. S.L. Horsfords Ghetto Roots
2. Blue Devils
3. Spartons
4. Ross University
5. Cayon Lions
6. St Pauls

Leave a Comment