Premier Parry Names Junior Ministers

Charlestown Nevis (July 21, 2006)

Premier of Nevis, the Hon Mr. Joseph Parry while updating the Government Information Service on Thursday 20, 2006, of the progress the Administration had made so far, said it had nominated two persons as Junior Ministers in the Nevis Island Assembly.
“We have appointed two persons to be nominated members and Junior Ministers in the House (Island Assembly) and in the Government (Island Administration),” said Mr. Parry.  “They are Mr. Dwight Cozier and Mr. Carlisle Powell.  They will be sworn in early next week.”

He said that a number of advisors who would be working with the Administration in various ministries had also been selected.  “Mrs. Pasty Hanley would be assigned to Health, Mr. Alistair Yearwood to Tourism, and Mr. Llewellyn Parris will to the Premier’s Ministry.”

These assignments the Premier noted were part of the developmental thrust to continue to provide a better living for the people of Nevis. “We have been seeking to work out the Permanent Secretaries but it is my understanding that one Permanent Secretary has sent in his resignation and another one has a job offer elsewhere.  We have not made any decision as yet in terms of their replacements but what we are doing is looking at the possibilities,” the Premier added.

While observing that the process would be done fairly and recommended to the Public Service Commission, the Honourable Premier said, “I’m pleased to say that nobody has lost their job.  Nobody has been fired nobody has been removed from the service.  We would like to quell any rumours about people been fired.  Nothing like that has happened in the Civil Service.

“We have had one situation where somebody has requested a transfer and that person has been accommodated.  That initiative came from the person in terms of the request for a transfer.  Everything else has been going smoothly,” he said.

Leave a Comment