New Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court Law Term Starts Monday

PM Douglas and Justice Rawlins

PM Douglas and Justice Rawlins
Photo By Erasmus Williams

Basseterre, St. Kitts – Nevis
September 10, 2010 (CUOPM)

The High Court at the Lee Llewellyn Moore Judicial and Legal Services Complex is the venue for the Ceremonial Opening of the new Law Term of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court on Monday 13th September 2010.

The occasion will be marked with the traditional Church Service at the Wesley Methodist Church on Seaton Street in Basseterre at 8:00 a.m.  Similar church services will take place in all the Member States and Territories of Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Anguilla, Montserrat and the British Virgin Islands.

Nevis-born Chief Justice, His Lordship Mr. Justice Hugh Rawlins, who will be in St. Kitts for the occasion, will deliver an address from the bench.

The High Court in each of the Member States and Territories will officially open for the hearing of cases on Thursday 16th September. However during that week, the Eastern Caribbean Court of Appeal will sit in St. Kitts.

Sitting on the bench will be Chief Justice Rawlins along with their Lordships Justices Ola Mae Edwards, Janice George-Creque, Davidson Baptiste and Justice Errol Thomas who will sit on the Appeal Court for that sitting.

The Criminal Assizes of High Court in St. Kitts will begin on Tuesday 21st 2010. Jury briefing is set for 18th September.

Leave a Comment