Nevis Joins Regional Platform On Renewable Energy


St. Kitts – Nevis Is One Of 12 Participating Countries

Charlestown, Nevis
April 24, 2009

A tool which would provide for the timely, effective and cost effective exchange  and communications of  regional information on renewable energy, will be launched in Jamaica on Friday.

St. Kitts and Nevis is one of 12 countries involved in the Caribbean Information Platform On Renewable Energy (CIPORE) programme.

Programme Manager, Energy of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Secretariat Mr. Joseph Williams who visited Nevis on a one day mission in relation to the geothermal development project on the island on Wednesday said, CIPORE was designed to provide feedback and would significantly change the way information would be shared in the future.

“It is a very important development and it is coming from the Caribbean Information Platform on Renewable Energy(CIPORE) Project which is part of the Energy Programme and it is seen as a very important milestone,” Mr. Williams told members of the media when he visited the geothermal well at Hamilton.

St. Kitts and Nevis, a participant in the project has been represented at the launch by Director of the Department of Information Mr. Huey Sargeant.

Meantime, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment on Nevis Mr. Ernie Stapleton said, he was pleased that Nevis was invited to be a part of the CIPORE Project due to the island’s involvement in renewable energy.

“It was significant for us to have a representative there because it is always important for us to share information with the Region and also to provide timely information.

“The training involved in terms of the CIPORE programme, would be significant especially in light of the fact that the Department of Information has a mandate and a responsibility to share the energy information with the population of the Region. So from that perspective, I think it is very significant for us and we are very happy that CARICOM saw it fit to invite us as an island,” he said.

The other islands which form part of the Regional platform are the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.

Leave a Comment