Nevis Honours 12 For 24th Independence Anniversary

Charlestown, Nevis
September 19, 2007

Twelve persons were recognised by the Nevis Island Administration, for their contribution to Nevis. The awardees received a plaque from Deputy Governor General His Honour Mr. Eustace John during the 24th anniversary of Independence Ceremonial Parade and Awards Ceremony at Grove Park on Wednesday September 19, 2007.
Mrs Inez Claxton of Jessups Village and Mr. Cedric Williams of` Brick Kiln were awarded for their contribution to Agriculture. Mr. Gaston Barry of Charlestown for his contribution to Business; Mr. Luther Williams of Holmes Hill, Gingerland for his contribution to Fishing; Mr. Donald Hanley  of Stoney Grove for his contribution to the Pharmaceutical Services.
Mr. David Nathaniel Browne of Liburd Hill, Mr. Joseph Browne of Gingerland and Mr. Calvin Ward of Charlestown were honoured for their contribution in the area of Public Service; Mr. James Jeffers of Hermitage Village for Shoemaking; Ms. Doradeen Tyson of Charlestown in the area of Small Business and Mr. Meredith Hendrickson of Gingerland and Mr. Percius Brown of Charlestown for their contribution to Trade and Industry.
The ceremony took place before hundreds of cheering Nevisians. There was the inspection of Uniformed Guards by the Premier and Deputy Governor General, a March past in Slow and Quick Time, The Advance in Review Order, The Feu-De-Joie; Three Chairs for the Nation and a Final Salute to the Nation.
The Independence Day celebrations will continue later today with a cocktail reception at the Oualie Beach Hotel hosted by the Premier and his wife.

Leave a Comment