St. Kitts Nevis’ Independence Day Attracts Foreign Dignitaries

Grenada's Prime Minister Tilman Thomas

Grenada’s Prime Minister Tilman Thomas

Basseterre, St. Kitts – Nevis
September 21, 2012 (CUOPM)

Prime Minister of Grenada, the Hon. Tillman Thomas was among representatives from several countries attending the Ceremonial Parade on Wednesday to mark St. Kitts and Nevis‘ 29th Anniversary of Independence.

The Grenadian leader joined dignitaries from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, South Korea, France, Saba, South Africa, Finland and Russia at the Ceremonial Parade at the Warner Park Stadium and later attended the Toast to the Troupes and the Federation at Camp Springfield and the Independence Reception hosted by His Excellency the Governor General Dr. Sir Cuthbert Sebastian at Government House.

The United States was represented by a five-man delegation led by the Barbados-based Ambassador His Excellency, Larry Leon Palmer, who was accompanied by First Secretary, Mr. Brian Greaney; Third Secretary, Kristin Mencer; Capt. Jeffery Radgowski of the United States Coast Guard; Major David Ariola, Defence Attaché and Mr. Akash Bahl, Regional Political Officer.

Canada was represented by its High Commissioner to St. Kitts and Nevis, Her Excellency Mrs. Ruth Archibald. She was accompanied by Political Officer Ms. DesRosiers.

South Korea was represented by His Excellency Ambassador Park Dong-Sil. He was accompanied by Third Secretary Choi Jong-su.

France was being represented by its Ambassador to St. Kitts and Nevis, His Excellency Michel Prom and Mrs. Prom.

South Africa’s Ambassador to St. Kitts and Nevis, His Excellency V. Peter Makwarela represented his African nation.

The United Kingdom was represented by Deputy High Commissioner Mr. Phil Culligan.

Finland’s new Ambassador-Designate to St. Kitts and Nevis, His Excellency Mikko Pyhala represented Finland.

Saba was represented by Island Council member, Hon. Eviton Heyliger and Head of the Department of Economic Affairs, Mr. Dave Levenstone.

Mexico was represented by Ambassador-Designate, His Excellency Edmundo Font, who was accompanied by Mrs. Font.

The Russian Federation was represented by Ambassador-Designate, His Excellency Vladimir Polenov. He was accompanied by Mr. Egor Bladogatskiy

Leave a Comment