New St. Kitts – Nevis PM Receives Congratulations

Prime Minister - Dr. Timothy Harris

Prime Minister – Dr. Timothy Harris

Basseterre, St. Kitts – Nevis
February 23, 2015 (SKNIS)

Prominent leaders across the region have extended congratulations to the new Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis, Dr. the Honourable Timothy Harris.

Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago, Kamla Persad-Bissessar, congratulated Dr. Harris on his appointment and expressed her desires for working with him.

“I look forward to working with PM Harris, as the members of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) seek to advance regional integration and co-operation,” Persad-Bissessar said.

Donald Ramotar, President of Guyana, echoed similar sentiments.

“I extend to you my best wishes, as you embark on the mandate entrusted to you by the people of St. Kitts and Nevis,” President Ramotar said. “I take this opportunity to express my hope for the further strengthening of the relations between our two countries. I also look forward to our collaboration at the regional, hemispheric and international levels for the betterment of the people of the Caribbean Community.”

Grenada’s Prime Minister, Dr. the Right Honourable Keith Mitchell stated that “the swearing in of Dr. Harris ushers in a new era of governance for St. Kitts and Nevis.” Dr. Mitchell expressed his country’s commitment to maintaining and advancing excellent relations with the government and people of the Federation.

Chairman of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) and Prime Minister of Dominica, Roosevelt Skerrit was also among other leaders who extended congratulations and well wishes to Dr. Timothy Harris.

“I want to first of all congratulate Dr. Timothy Harris and his coalition team for having won the election in St. Kitts and Nevis,” said Prime Minister Skerrit. “The world and the Caribbean are going through very challenging times and it is important for us to work together as OECS and of course as CARICOM, to ensure that we can help each other to overcome those challenges.”

Dr. The Honourable Timothy Harris, was sworn in on Wednesday, February 18, as the third Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis.

Leave a Comment