Nevis Minister Applauds Charlestown Primary School

Charelstown, Nevis - Primary School Top Athletes

Charelstown, Nevis – Primary School Top Athletes

Charlestown Nevis
April 14, 2008

Area Representative for St. Paul’s the Hon Robelto Hector shared a special moment with the 2008 Gulf Insurance Inter-Primary Schools Athletic Champions, team Charlestown Primary School,(CPS) on Friday April 11, 2008 at the school in Ramsbury, Charlestown.  Moments before Minister Hector presented the top athletes with their trophies he told the athletes he was happy to be with them again to celebrate the occasion.
“I am happy to be here again this year to share special moments with you all as athletes. I offer words of congratulations to the team and to the school in general. The performance at the meet is an indication of the hard work of the students, parents, teachers and the coaches.
“You have done exceptionally well! Keep it up, and let me be back here next year to say congratulations to you again!” Minister Hector said.

The heightened competition witnessed by thousands of spectators culminated with Team Charlestown Primary trashing its immediate competitor by 67 points to retain its athletic supremacy. 
Team Charlestown Primary deposited 235 points and stashed 27 gold medals 9 silver and 7 bronze.  They also secured 5 female class championships and 3 male class championships.  The overall champion female athlete and Victrix Ladorum title went to Renika Daniel who accumulated 26 points winning in the 100, 200, 400 and 800 meter races.
With the assistance of Coach Carol Ward, Minister Hector presented the top athletes with trophies for their outstanding performances. In the female category, Class I Renika Daniel, Class II Tyra Lewis, Class III Uniquo Willett, Class VI Kiandre Matthew and Class VII Kurvella Wallace. In the male category Class I Dejuar Parris, Class II Saeed Williams and Class III Rasheid Fraser.
The Gulf Insurance Inter-Primary Schools Athletic Championship trophy was accepted by coaches Elquemeido Willet and Carol Ward. This was the fourth consecutive win for the Zone A Champions, the Charlestown Primary School.

Leave a Comment