Monetary Council Appoints New Commissioners To ECSRC

Basseterre, St. Kitts – Nevis
October 23, 2007 (CUOPM)

Two new commissioners have been appointed to the Eastern Caribbean Securities Regulatory Commission.

Mr. Arthur Thompson of Antigua and Barbuda and Mr. Ambrose Sylvester of Dominica were appointed by the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) Monetary Council to succeed Messrs. Dunbar McIntyre of Grenada, the outgoing Chairman, and Charles Brisbane of St Kitts and Nevis, whose terms of service ended on 18th October 2007.   They will serve for a period of three years, with effect from 19 October 2007.

The new appointees join Mr. Crispin Sorhaindo of the Commonwealth of Dominica, Mr Errol Allen of St. Vincent and the Grenadines and the Chairman Mr. Calvin Rodgers of Antigua and Barbuda, who have served as ECSRC Commissioners since 2001.

The ECSRC is the regulator of securities business in the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU), including the Eastern Caribbean Securities Market (ECSM) which came into being on 19th October 2001.

The ECSM facilitates securities trading in eight English speaking territories in the Eastern Caribbean, namely, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

The industry in these territories is governed by uniformed securities legislation, the Securities Act 2001 and amendments, and Regulations to the Act.

Leave a Comment